Father’s Day

it’s fathers day and, truth be told, I almost forgot about it. for me it’s just another day, another sunday I go to church and do the other typical sunday stuff that I do. but it wasn’t always like that.

this day used to be celebrated. this was a day that i treated my dad to almost anything he wanted, of course within my budget. typically it always ended up involving a movie and dinner.

i loved to shop for him. wondering through the men’s department at macy’s looking for just the shirt to get him, or through brookstone to see what gadget he might like. Now on, rare occasions, i find myself wondering through the men’s department remembering when i had someone to buy for and looked at items with a discerning eye.

this year makrs my 13th father-less fathers day, and i know that i will never celebrate fathers day the way i used to as a child. but, as a grow-up (or at least pretending to be one 😉 ) i’ve had to learn a few things.

i’ve had to learn to just suck it up and accept that i will never celebrate fathers day in the old familiar ways again.

i’ve had to learn to accept that as hard as i try to protest and ignor this day, hallmark has such a hold us all, we will continue to celebrate this day forever!

i’ve had to lean, accept and am now rejoicing that although i do not have my earthly father to give a big hug to on this day, i have a heavenly father who i can cling to everyday for the rest of my life.

One comment

  1. I always admire your talking so openly about your father. You were very lucky to have one another and the time you shared. It saddens me that it was so short, particularly when I look at my relationship (or lack there of) with my own father who is running around who knows where doing who knows what. Hugs!

Leave a Reply

